Body Meets World

Reading and thoughts are converging at the moment. Krista Tippett in Becoming Wise quotes Eve Ensler, in the context of a discussion about consciously being in the body: “You can’t dominate people without separating them from each other and from themselves.” And I think about Ta-Nehisi Coates in Between the World and Me reflecting on the terrifying realities of living in a black body in the world. And I think about Hannah Arendt’s thinking about totalitarianism: “Terror can rule absolutely only over men who are isolated against each other….” And I think about current events, and my ambivalence about my plan to join the women’s march — what is the point, what are we saying? — but will go anyway, to stand together, a mass of bodies in pink hats, and think about misogyny so pervasive and rooted that many would deny its existence at all. And I’ll probably be uncomfortable being a body packed among so many other bodies, and I’ll probably be cold, and perhaps feel a little silly, and I’ll be careful where I park and will be alert to my surroundings when I walk back to my car after dark, and I’ll feel part of a long history of gathering for protest, shoulder to shoulder, together, for the moment. And I think about the installation at MASSMoCA that looks like the abandoned lab of some arctic sea expedition and the image that appears in one of the great pipes curving up from the floor: a digital printout saying, All you need is love, All you need is love, All you need is love.

img_0446

4 thoughts on “Body Meets World

  1. Glad to hear you are going, Marilyn? Perhaps I’ll see you there! I only attend the marches that I think will make some kind of ripple. This is one of them. It counts, but we’ll never know how exactly. Not really looking forward to it, but feel it must be done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

