Reader’s Guide to Glass Factory and Shameless Self-Promotion

I had a fun time creating a reader’s guide to my new book of poems, Glass Factory. Have I mentioned I have a new book of poems out? Have I told you this before? It’s available at SPDBooks. org. Anyway, here’s an excerpt from the Reader’s Guide to Glass Factory:

Obscure References and Inside Jokes

Self-study” is the literal translation of the word autopsy, and the first line, “The body is a thing and such,” is a jokey reference to Kant’s philosophical phrase ding an sich, meaning a thing as it is in itself.

The man in a window and then just the window in “Prague” references “defenestration,” the throwing of someone out the window, as happened to seven city council members in the rebellion in Prague in 1419.

The phrase “My god. My god.” at the end of the second section of “Time Series” references Jesus’s cry from the cross, “Eli, eli, lama atta sabachtani“: My god, my god, why have you forsaken me.

Lakeshore Limited” is the name of a train that runs from Chicago to New York. It’s frequently late.

The last line of “Bell” are the first words ever spoken over the telephone. Alexander Graham Bell was speaking to his assistant.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

