Oui ou non?

Making conversation in French class, a classmate asked me if I write poems for myself or for my readers (or, at least I think that’s what he said…). I said that poetry was an inquiry and I wrote them to ask questions of myself (me demander) and hoped that the inquiry was of interest to others too. Now I have to go back to my current manuscript-in-progress to find out if that grand statement is in fact true. Nothing worse than catching one’s own self in a lie. But it occurs to me that bringing that mindset to an editing process is actually pretty useful. Often a poem isn’t working because it already knows too much. The more a poem can wonder, the more open-ended and interesting it can become, both for the writer and for the reader. Oui ou non?

DSCN0508

Leave a Reply

